Be Well Challenge: Day 1 & 2

When I woke up on Saturday morning, I thought about the plans I had laid out for the next 31 days.  It was a strict plan, but by no means impossible.  I also thought about how I’m tired of being overweight and tired of feeling like I didn’t apply myself to lessening my impact on the planet.  With those thoughts upon awakening, I started my day.  Here is my recap of Day 1.

*Workouts:  I may have gone a tad overboard with this one on Saturday.  I went to my morning circuit TRX class in the morning, then ran 3.34 miles.  I also decided to get in 1 more workout and went to another circuit TRX class in the afternoon.  Normally, I don’t do this much a day.  But I think my enthusiasm for this challenge may have made me do it.

*Food:  An unspoken thing about this challenge is that its not just about not eating fast food.  It about eating healthy in general.

  • Breakfast:  Cottage Cheese w/ fruit
  • Lunch:  Grilled Cheese Sandwich w/ tomatoes
  • Dinner:  Sushi (my friend took me to dinner for a belated birthday dinner)
  • Snack:  Energy bar before my run

All in all, my food intake wasn’t terrible, so I can’t be too mad about it.

*Waste:  Rest assured, I didn’t let any sushi I ordered go to waste.  In all seriousness, I would say that this would be my biggest victory for Day 1.  The only trash I produced was the wrapper from the energy bar and the disposable chopsticks (w/ accompanying wrapper) from dinner.

I would say that Day 1 was a successful day.  I felt good about the day when I was going to sleep, and was looking forward to Day 2.

Day 2 started like every Sunday starts; with Yoga!  Yoga was something that stumbled onto in an effort to get over an ex-boyfriend.  And for whatever reason, I was hooked from the beginning.  I love it, and it has become a part of my life.  It is for sure a workout, but its also something that you can always improve at.  You learn about yourself along the way, and that is sometimes the better benefit.  Here is my recap of Day 2.

*Workouts:  As previously stated, I went to my normal yoga class.  My Sunday class is usually challenging.  Although I may not always be able to do everything, I try to do what is right for me at the time.  Coming off a day in which I overtaxed myself in the workout department, my body just didn’t want to do what I wanted it to.  But rest is ok.

*Food:  Sundays are usually the day in which I am a bit freer in my eating.  But I still try to stick to some kind of boundary.

  • Breakfast:  Banana (pre yoga), Latte & Bagel Bites (post yoga)
  • Lunch:  Prosciutto wrapped shishito peppers
  • Dinner:  Spaghetti w/ sauce and cheese, bread w/ butter
  • Snack:  frozen yogurt after dinner

*Waste:  The only waste created was the wrapper from the bagel bites (which I’m going throw in the recycling bin), the wrapper from the prosciutto, and some paper towels from prepping the produce from the farmers market.

*Farmer’s Market:  I love the Farmer’s Market.  Like, if I could get EVERYTHING there, I would.  But like the rest of America, I also have to be budget conscious.  Summer makes it a lot easier to shop at the Farmer’s Market.  Let’s face it, summer produce is just more appealing.  I got tomatoes, strawberries, lettuce, peaches, and dandelion greens (my new item for the week).  Now, I just want to say that NOTHING compares to good tomatoes.  To be dramatic, I feel like I have been living in tomato purgatory for the last 2 seasons.  I appreciate the fact that stores carry organic tomatoes.  But they are just not the same.  My favorite farm, Ellwood Canyon Farms, has the best tomatoes.  This is also my strawberry supplier.  I eat more strawberries and tomatoes than any other produce in the summer.  Enough about that, the important thing is that I used all my reusable bags and refused the plastic bags.  On to the new item, dandelion greens.  I’ve never eaten them, nor do I know how to cook them.  As I was putting them in my bag, I said, I’ll have to google how to cook/eat them.  The farmer then said, good luck, they taste terrible.  I googled how to cook them, and let’s just say ummm…just wish me luck.  I shall update on this in a future post!

And there it is…Day 1 and Day 2 of the Be Well Challenge.  All in all, I would say that the last 2 days were a great start to the month.  I can’t wait for the rest of the month!

Leave a Reply

