Be Well Challenge: Days 3-4

Being healthy.  Its something we all strive for.  Not one person says to themselves, “I don’t want to be healthy”.  Its all a matter of how bad one wants to be healthy.  Perhaps they have always applied themselves, and making healthy choices comes easy.  Or perhaps, they have always made horribly unhealthy decisions, and being healthy takes a conscious effort.  I would definitely fall into this category.  This challenge is most definitely helping me make better choices.  When I am more mindful of making the right choice, it becomes easier.  Here is my recap of Days 3 and 4.

Day 3

Workout:  My Monday night yoga class is one of my favorites.  It is with one of my favorite teachers, and its a nice way to start off the work week.  It is also not as challenging as my Sunday class.  It forces me not push as hard as I would like to and listen to what I need at that time.

Food:  When I don’t have to work, I tend to either graze all day or eat horribly.  I tried to be mindful of everything I ate, and it seemed to pay off.  It wasn’t perfect, but hey, at least I didn’t order pizza.

  • Breakfast:  Coffee w/ soy creamer & Cottage Cheese w/ Peaches
  • Lunch:  Grilled Cheese Sandwich
  • Snack:  Banana
  • Dinner:  Tofu w/ Fried Rice & Frozen Yogurt for dessert

Waste:  As I go through this challenge, I’m realizing more and more the little things that one doesn’t think about when trying to eliminate waste.  The trash I created was limited to 2 wrappers from the cheese slices and empty bag from the fried rice.

Day 4

Workout:  Due to the holiday, my regular gym class was cancelled.  Luckily, there was one available to go to in the morning.  I met my friend at the gym, and we had a great morning workout.  It felt good to be able to get our regular workout in and also to start the day off with a little sweat (or a lot of sweat in my case).

Food:  Oh, the Fourth of July.  A day with BBQs, Fireworks, and lots of other unhealthy food to be eaten.  Other than Christmas or Thanksgiving, this is one of the hardest days to stick to a healthy eating plan.  I tried to not give myself too hard of a time, since I gave in to the temptation.

  • Breakfast:  Coffee w/ Soy Creamer, Eggs w/ Toast
  • Lunch:  Pasta w/ Ground Turkey & Sauce, Salad w/ Tomatoes & Cucumbers
  • Dinner:  Turkey Burger, Hot Dog (no bun), BBQ chips
  • Snack:  Iced Vanilla Latte, Banana

Waste:  I forgot my reusable cup to get a latte after my workout.  In total, the waste produced was the cup from my latte, and a paper plate from the BBQ.  Not the best, but not terrible either.

So far, after 4 days, this IS getting a little easier.

 

Leave a Reply

