Be Well Challege: 2 Weeks In! 

My original intention with this challenge was to update everyday about my progress. However, life happens. I was sick (I’ll talk about that), and was super busy. So, now, I’m looking at a 10 day gap in updates. So, here is a general update on the first half of this challenge.

Food:
What I have been eating has been pretty much the same every day. Instead of a detailed per day update on food, I’ve included a general guideline I use when planning my food for the day.

      *Breakfast: Usually, I try to eat   something that will get me through the morning, and not make me a crazy person. This usually consists of oatmeal and fruit. On the weekends, I usually eat eggs with toast.

     *Lunch: For work, I usually bring a sandwich, a veggie, and a fruit. Summer at the Farmer’s Market is so great. I fully take advantage of fresh strawberries and stone fruit. On the weekends, I try to get it as healthy as possible. There is no method to the madness on the weekends, but I just try to stay within the healthy set of foods.

     *Dinner: My biggest range of variety comes with dinner. Same as lunches on the weekend, I just try to keep it as healthy as possible. I will usually indulge in pasta with sauce and some kind of veggie. 

Farmers Market: The last 2 weeks have been so great at the Farmers Market. I also committed to trying something new every week. The first week was dandelion greens (I will update what I did with these in a separate post). The second week, I tried some green plums. I’m a creature of habit, and picking a green plum is not in my lane. It was delicious. They were slightly less sweet than a purple plum and worked so awesome mixed with the yellow nectarines I bought. 

Waste: The past few days have been rough on the waste front. I started housesitting for my parents in the middle of the week. And they are also having their kitchen worked on, so I’ve had to buy food every day. This has contributed to my overall waste. Also, a major waste fail over the last few days is with Starbucks. It makes me so sad about this, as reducing my waste is one of the key parts of this challenge. 

Workouts: This is one of the biggest wins over the last 10 days. Aside from the 2 days I was sick, I completed all scheduled workouts. Overall, I can tell the difference in my mood. Exercise just makes you feel better. Even if it’s just a quick walk, or stretching. 

I mentioned in the beginning that I was sick. Even prior to this challenge, I have been trying to eat as healthy as possible. My favorite food is quite possibly donuts, followed by anything else fried. I have largely abstained from eating those, as it never is good for you. But, as stated before, life happens. And sometimes, life can derail you from being consistent. This past weekend, I went on a bit of a binge. Saturday, I had 4 donuts, 4! This was followed by tacos that were fried in oil. Then, on Sunday, I had a generous portion of fried chicken and mashed potatoes. Are you starting to see a theme? Well, this all resulted in me being sick for 2 days from the bad eating. Lesson learned. When you eat healthy, then eat A LOT of bad food in a quick time frame, it will affect you negatively. You could escape unscathed, but usually, it doesn’t end well. 

All in all, this challenge has been pretty great. It has taught me a lot already about how I buy things, what my default is, and things that are hard to keep up (like this blog). I’ve also learned that even though you get thrown off course, you can just right the ship and keep going. Quitting is not necessary, and its ok if it doesn’t go exactly as planned.

Leave a Reply

